Newbie class projects and a giveaway!

We are wrapping up another great session of Connie’s class for newbies at Quilter’s Eden. Though to tell the truth, some of the students have been quilting for years! A newbie class can be a good way to learn new techniques, clean up any “bad habits” you’ve developed over the years, and meet new quilters.

In this class, each student makes the same projects, but chooses her own fabrics. One of the best parts, everyone agrees, is seeing how different the same design can look in different colors, values, and prints. Below, you will see the four quilts created this fall – all are in the process of being basted.

Do you need a yard of fabric?

And now…about that giveaway…After months of hard work Quilter’s Eden has a fancy new web site full of beautiful and fun fabric and patterns! On the home page is a slide show of photos from the shop. There are many other features to explore, including a survey on the home page under the Quick Links menu. We are super proud of our new site!

Take a few minutes (or more!) to visit the site and see for yourself! Then come back here and let us know what you think. Which fabric got you thinking about new projects? Or maybe about finishing an old one? Leave a comment with your answer between now and Wednesday, November 23, 2011 at midnight. We’ll let the Random Number Generator choose the lucky winner of a yard of the fabric you mention!

You can also find Quilter’s Eden on Facebook (look for our tree!) and on Twitter. We look forward to hearing from you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Newbie class projects and a giveaway!

  1. Becky says:

    Oooooooooo~ Love looking at all the pretty fabrics..Cant wait to start a plan, and enroll in another fabulous class that you offer!!

  2. katie jean says:

    I love your new site! Congratulations on the update, it looks great and is fun to look around at everything. I even downloaded the free quilt pattern from Aneela Hoey. It looks like a fun and easy pattern to make with my 10″ blocks.

  3. Sue Heinz says:

    Thinking I need to take the newbies class and learn how to correctly quilt!! Its nice to see pictures on line!

  4. judith says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE EVERYTHING!!
    Congratulations to everyone!!

  5. gao; says:

    I love Ruby line…. all of them…

  6. Mary says:

    Love your store, your staff and your site!! Keep up the GREAT work!

  7. Elaine says:

    Love the Cattaiils & Clover!

  8. Gloria Fagerlund says:

    I have several projects barely started which includes several swatches of fabric. The one I am most interested in completing is my collection of patriotic swatches. I want to create some lap robes for the American Legion Auxiliary project.

    I liked several pictures of fabric on your web site. What I need to do is bring in my swatches and find what would compliment them. I think the finished project will look GOOD!! I need motivation to get this project started.

  9. We are loving all the comments – thank you so much! Keep them coming!

  10. Marcy Halstenson says:

    Love your new website. And realy like the Cattails and Clover, also all the Kansas Trouble fabric. But also love the whole store!!!!!

  11. Angie M says:

    Being a “beginner” I have been looking at many websites. Love how easy your new site is to maneuver around. After looking at all the fabric I really liked the Brown Quilt Labels by Sandy Gervis. I am noticing I am drawn to a lot of her fabric. I don’t have any labels yet and am about to finish my first “Welcome to the Lake” wall hanging!

  12. Lori Tweet says:

    Your new website is great. Even though I stop in the store frequently, it is nice to look over the website for ideas ahead of time. I love the batiks. The sky blue marble is very pretty.

  13. Nancy K says:

    Love the Indian Summer batiks! love those colors.
    Nice job on the new website too.

  14. Donna Beattie, 2300 Birchmont Drive NE, Bemidji, Mn. 56601 says:

    Very colorful, creative web site !!! I especially liked grey sublime from the
    Ruby collection. It would be great in the stainless and gray kitchens of today.

  15. Kathy Carlson says:

    I love the new website. The new batiks coming in December look like fun! I have been working on the bali wedding star pattern and am falling in love with batiks.

  16. Lauren Kropf says:

    Great work on the web page. I love the Hoo’s in the Forest in Pink. It will go great with all the new ba y items I am making for our new arrival in Feb!

  17. Mary says:

    Loved having the pictures. I didn’t realize you had so much flannel that could go into a quilt for a male.

  18. Kari says:

    Much improved website!!! I enjoyed the “what’s new” to look for lines you are carrying! I love RUBY by Moda and am hoping to make something with that line after I finish my “christmas projects”.

  19. Cindy Roelofs says:

    Love the Blueberry Crumb Cake from Moda – the blues and browns are so sweet – that one’s going on my Christmas List!

  20. DSturges says:

    site review – a very big suggestion – get out and populate google and google maps and everything else with your domain name because quilters-eden.com is no where near the top returns when you search quilters eden east grand forks, mn . You’re losing business! 🙂

  21. DSturges says:

    oops. The 22nd is Tuesday. (Your giveaway deadline is listed as Wednesday, Nov. 22.)

  22. The quilt backs are a bonus! Thanks!

  23. Kathleen Johnson says:

    Such a darling website! I’ve bookmarked the page so I can check back on upcoming classes. I know QE is still working on the website, but I do have one suggestion about the upcoming classes section: more detailed info regarding the classes would be nice. I was interested in the Groovy Girls Sewing Club with Pam, and was curious as to what kind of projects the group has been working on in the past, present, and future; pics, please! I love seeing all the different quilts people have been working on at Quilter’s Eden. Posting pics of all the projects from the different classes would be wonderful.

  24. Tammy delisle says:

    I like the gray sublime

  25. Darlene Dvorak says:

    Great webisite, I loved going through it all. It was fun looking at the projects at the Newbie class site. I am always amazed on how each person sees fabric and patterns so differently.

Leave a Reply

